2017: new year, new administration


The votes have been counted and the American people elected Donald Trump the 45th president of the United States. ConocoPhillips has already begun to work with the incoming administration to forge the kind of energy future that protects the environment while delivering the world the energy it requires.

“The company is proud of its long, proven history of working with all levels of government to address concerns, help inform public policy and shape its implementation to benefit Americans economically, socially and environmentally,” said Federal & State Government Affairs Vice President John Dabbar. “We’ve made a lot of progress as an industry, and we’re committed to continuing to supply the energy the country needs safely, efficiently and with minimal impact to people and the environment.”

In the days running up to the Jan. 20, 2017 Inauguration Day, we are engaging with the new administration’s transition team directly and through trade associations such as the American Petroleum Institute (API) to provide information about company and industry operating standards, policies and principals.

Federal election summary 

Donald Trump won 306 electoral college votes, sweeping the former battleground states of Ohio, Florida, North Carolina, Michigan and Pennsylvania but lost the popular vote to Hillary Clinton by more than 2.5 million votes. The Republican party retained its majority party leadership of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. The Senate remains under Republican rule, with a 51-seat majority. All incumbent Congressional candidates representing ConocoPhillips asset areas were re-elected:

  • Alaska: Senator Lisa Murkowski (R), Representative Don Young (R).
  • Colorado: Senator Michael Bennet (D), Representative Mike Coffman (R).
  • Montana: Representative Ryan Zinke (R).
  • North Dakota: Senator John Hoeven (R), Representative Kevin Cramer (R).
  • New Mexico: Representatives Ben Ray Lujan (D) and Steve Pearce (R).
  • Oklahoma: Senator James Lankford (R), Representative Jim Bridenstine (R).
  • Texas: Representatives Henry Cuellar (D) and Republican Representatives Barton, Brady, Conaway, Culberson, Hurd, Olson and Poe.
  • Utah: Senator Mike Lee (R).

State election summary 

Gubernatorial races were decided in Montana and North Dakota with incumbent Steve Bullock (D) returning to the Montana governor’s mansion and former Microsoft executive Doug Burgum (R) becoming North Dakota’s new governor. Key state legislative races and chamber leadership outcomes:

  • Alaska: A post-election surprise power shift occurred when a faction of moderate House Republicans agreed to join their Democratic colleagues and lead the House via a new coalition majority; the State Senate remains under Republican rule.
  • Colorado: State House control by Democrats; State Senate control by Republicans.
  • Montana: Both the State House and State Senate remain under Republican leadership.
  • North Dakota: Both the State House and State Senate remain under Republican leadership.
  • New Mexico: State House control reverts to Democrats; State Senate remains under Democratic rule.
  • Texas: Both the State House and State Senate remain under Republican leadership. Texans elected former State Representative Wayne Christian (R) to an open seat on the Texas Railroad Commission, the entity responsible for regulating the oil and natural gas industry.
  • Colorado’s Proposition 71— known locally as “Raise the Bar” — passed, which will reduce some of the biennial ballot measure challenges faced by the industry and should further refocus regulatory decisions on the Colorado Oil & Gas Conservation Commission.

Stay tuned to Power in Cooperation throughout the new year – we’ll keep you informed about opportunities to engage your elected officials on important legislative or regulatory issues. Also, please share this blog with your friends and family. Thanks for being an important part of our community and for supporting energy policies that promote safe and environmentally responsible exploration, development and production of natural gas and oil!

Share your thoughts with us.